Holmdel Rising · Complete Record

Data Center at Bell Works: Claims, Filings, and the Agreement

Every fact below traces to one of three sources: the 2014 Financial & Redevelopment Agreement, the applicant's own filed Planning Board application, or Somerset's August 2026 open letter and FAQ. Where sources conflict, both sides are shown side by side.

ApplicantTerna Infrastructure USA, Inc.
Owner / letter authorRalph Zucker, Inspired by Somerset Development
FiledApp. 7/21/26 · EIS/Stormwater/Site Plans 7/24/26
Letter publishedbell.works FAQ, last updated 8/11/26
Bottom line

The owner's own letter resolves two open questions — and opens a new one about how the project is being described to residents versus how it's described in the technical filings.

Somerset's letter confirms the 40MW figure and the closed-loop cooling design, both consistent with the filed application. But its framing of the site as "isolated" and "out of view," and its description of a data center as approved "on this 472-acre site," sit uneasily next to the Agreement's actual footprint restriction and the applicant's own environmental report.

5Red flags
3Amber flags
2Checks out
2Unverified
A

Fact-Checking the Open Letter & FAQ

Ralph Zucker's letter and the accompanying FAQ (bell.works/lp/holmdel-data-center-faq) make several specific factual claims. Here's each one next to what the Agreement and the applicant's own filed documents actually say.

CLAIM
"In 2012, Holmdel adopted the Bell Works Redevelopment Plan and approved a data center as one of the permitted uses on this 472-acre site..."
What the Plan actually says: A data center is permitted only "within the area of the general footprint of the existing maintenance building" — approximately 54,000 sf (1.24 acres) — not anywhere across the 472-acre site. The letter's framing is technically true (the Plan does cover the whole site) but omits the specific siting restriction that is the central legal question here.
CLAIM
"our proposed project will replace an existing structure that sits behind the main Bell Works building" [singular]
What the EIS says: "Demolition of two existing buildings and associated site improvements." The site currently holds six buildings and an electrical substation. The letter describes one structure being replaced; the applicant's own environmental filing describes two demolitions on a six-building site.
CLAIM
"At 40 megawatts, this facility is less than one-tenth the size of the 300 to 500-plus megawatt hyperscale data centers..."
Now confirmed in the sealed architectural record. The Master Plan title block states it directly: 4 data halls, 294 racks per hall at 22 kW/rack, 26 MW total critical load, 40 MW total utility load at 1.5 PUE. The FAQ adds that the original 1962 Bell Labs campus was built for ~48MW capacity with ~5MW currently in use — worth noting that campus-wide historical electrical capacity is a different question from what's appropriate for a use restricted to one building's footprint under the Plan.
CLAIM
"JCP&L has confirmed it can serve this facility within existing infrastructure and available utility capacity, without requiring new transmission buildout..."
Can't independently verify. The application does include a JCP&L Will-Serve Letter (Item 12), but it's a Word document that isn't readable as extracted text. This claim should be checked against that letter directly rather than taken from the developer's paraphrase of its own favorable document.
CLAIM
"The facility sits in an isolated portion of the property, out of view from surrounding neighborhoods and roadways, and will not add traffic to local roads."
In tension with the applicant's own technical reports. The EIS states single-family residential development directly to the north and east of the site; the Traffic Assessment places it to the west; the Stormwater Maintenance Plan says north. And the Traffic Assessment does project traffic — 126 daily trips, 15 in the AM peak hour, 5 in the PM peak hour — characterized as nominal, not zero. "Will not add traffic" overstates what the applicant's own traffic engineer actually found, which is low impact, not no impact.
CLAIM
"New Jersey has strict standards governing noise generated by a site, and any noise from the completed facility will remain below state limits during both daytime and nighttime hours."
No supporting noise study found in the filed record. The Environmental Impact Report's table of contents covers water, floodplain, soil, sewage, vegetation, air quality, historic resources, aesthetics, steep slopes, and species — there is no noise section, no acoustic modeling, and no decibel projection anywhere in the document as filed. The claim may well turn out to be accurate, but it isn't backed by anything in the technical record reviewed here.
CLAIM
FAQ #4: "...residential communities such as Regency and Reserve, sports and recreation on one rear parcel, and a data center on the other [rear parcel]."
Looser than the Plan's actual text. Describing the data center as belonging to "one rear parcel" implies a whole parcel was earmarked for this use from the start. The Plan's operative language is narrower and more specific: "the general footprint of the existing maintenance building." A parcel and a building footprint are not the same unit of measurement — this is the same gap identified in Finding 1 below, now visible in the developer's own public description.
CLAIM
"Our application was filed under the zoning Holmdel adopted in 2012...and it will now go through its own full review before the Planning Board."
Confirms the applicant's own vested-rights theory. This is consistent with New Jersey's "time of application" rule (N.J.S.A. 40:55D-10.5) — the applicant is explicitly signaling it believes the July 24 filing date insulates the project from the townwide ban the Committee has since acted on. Worth knowing this is their stated legal position going in, not just a possible argument their attorney might raise.
01

🚩 The Building Matches. The Site Doesn't.

🔴A new subdivided parcel, against a footprint restrictionRed flag
What the Agreement allows
A data center may be built "within the area of the general footprint of the existing maintenance building" — approximately 54,000 sf, about 1.24 acres.
Redevelopment Plan §III.D, p. 11 / §V.B.2, p. 21
vs.
What was actually filed
Proposed building footprint: 53,860 sf at grade — nearly identical to the existing building (built as two stories, 108,000 sf total). But the application requests a minor subdivision creating a new parcel — several times larger than the footprint area the Agreement names — to hold the parking, driveways, stormwater basins, and site improvements supporting the use.
Environmental Impact Report §1.1, p. 1; Application & Checklist

Note on acreage: confirm the exact size of the newly subdivided lot from the subdivision plat in the filed site plans before citing a figure in testimony. The legal point does not depend on the number: any new lot sized to hold parking, driveways, stormwater basins, and site improvements is by definition larger than the ~1.24-acre building footprint the Plan names.

Square feetAcres
Existing maintenance building (Agreement's stated boundary)~54,000 sf~1.24 ac
Proposed data center building footprint53,860 sf~1.24 ac
Proposed subdivided parcelConfirm from platMultiple× larger

The building itself was almost certainly sized to mirror the existing structure — that part lines up cleanly, and it's worth naming since it's the applicant's best argument. But "the general footprint of the existing maintenance building" describes the area the use is confined to, not just a roofline a new building happens to match. Parking, driveways, stormwater basins, and buffers are being carved out of a new lot several times that area — whatever its final acreage turns out to be on the plat.

02

🚩 Parking Shortfall, In Their Own Words

🔴34 spaces provided vs. 72 requiredRed flag
"The data center will be supported by 34 parking spaces. In accordance with the Alcatel-Lucent Redevelopment Plan, the Data Center requires that 1 parking space per 1,500 square feet be provided. Accordingly, the Ordinance requires that 72 parking spaces be provided. As noted, 34 spaces will be available." Traffic Assessment, "Parking" section, p. 7 — the applicant's own report

A 53% shortfall against the Plan's own numeric standard (§V.B.2.c). The applicant's justification — low employee density, citing ITE data — may be reasonable on the merits, but it's still a deviation from a written standard, and needs a formal, on-the-record variance.

03

🚩 Not the Entity That Signed the Agreement

🔴Unconfirmed chain of transfer consentRed flag
Who the Agreement binds
Somerset Holmdel Development I, L.P. Any transfer of the property before a Certificate of Completion requires prior Township consent in writing, with the new party formally assuming the old obligations.
Redevelopment Agreement §11.02 / §11.04, pp. 23–24
vs.
Who filed this application
Applicant: Terna Infrastructure USA, Inc. Owner of record: Somerset Mezz Holdings, LP. The open letter is signed by Ralph Zucker of "Inspired by Somerset Development" — a third distinct name.
Application & Checklist, p. 1; Open Letter signature block

Three related but distinct names — the original signer, the current owner of record, and the letter's corporate signature — appear across this file. Worth asking directly whether Township consent was obtained for whatever restructuring produced this chain, and whether the current parties have formally assumed the 2014 Agreement's obligations in writing.

04

🚩 Key Compliance Data Was Deferred, Not Submitted

🔴The application's own completeness checklistRed flag
  • Zoning schedule (bulk data: setbacks, coverage, height, FAR) — annotated "will provide as condition of approval," not submitted with the application.
  • Easements, covenants, restrictions — annotated "condition of approval" rather than provided now.
  • Water and sewer will-serve letters — the EIS states twice that "a formal will-serve letter is not yet available," despite the Township's checklist requiring current will-serve letters at filing.

The checklist item-to-note mapping comes from a scanned table; the two "condition of approval" annotations most plausibly attach to the zoning schedule and easements items based on document position — confirm against the original PDF. The missing will-serve letters are confirmed by clear prose in the EIS and are not in question.

This matters directly: the exact bulk data that would let anyone check this proposal against the underlying OL-1 zoning standard isn't in the record yet.

05

⚠️ Historic Status Is Stronger Than the Application States

🟡"Eligible" vs. actually listed since 2016–17Caution flag

The EIS calls the site "eligible for listing" in the National Register. In fact, the Bell Labs Holmdel Complex was formally added to the National Register of Historic Places on June 26, 2017 (ref. 16000223) and the New Jersey Register on March 8, 2016 (NJRHP No. 4771) — it is already listed, not merely eligible. Two buildings are proposed for demolition inside a property on both state and national historic registers.

06

⚠️ Steep-Slope Ordinance Waiver Requested

🟡A discretionary call the Board has to makeCaution flag
"Ch. 30-116.6.f.2 and g.2 of the Development Ordinance does not permit any development, regrading, or stripping of vegetation [on slopes over 25%]... The project proposes disturbance of existing slopes greater than 25 percent for the driveways and utility systems." Environmental Impact Report §2.10, p. 7

8.32% of the site carries slopes over 25%. The ordinance's exception only applies when "no better location is available" — worth asking whether that alternatives analysis was actually done.

07

⚠️ Wildlife Review Was Still Open at Filing

🟡NJDEP hadn't responded as of July 24Caution flag

The EIS identifies potential habitat for six state-listed species, including an endangered upland sandpiper, plus a federally threatened bog turtle. NJDEP's Natural Heritage Program consultation was requested July 1; as of filing, "a response is pending." That review should be closed and in the record before any vote.

08

🚩 Now We Have the Actual Legal Limit — and a Real Problem

🔴Holmdel's own noise ordinance sets hard numbers the letter never mentionsRed flag

Holmdel's Noise Ordinance (Ord. No. 97-31, codified at §3-1) sets specific, enforceable outdoor sound limits at the property line of any residential receiving property:

Receiving property7 a.m. – 10 p.m.10 p.m. – 7 a.m.
Residential (outdoor, at property line)65 dB max50 dB max
Residential (indoor)55 dB max40 dB max

Continuous mechanical noise from cooling equipment and transformers at data-center-scale facilities commonly runs in the 45–65 dB range at the property line — meaning ordinary 24/7 operation, not even generator testing, can land at or above Holmdel's 50 dB nighttime residential limit depending on distance and equipment. The open letter's claim that noise "will remain below state limits" is a specific, checkable assertion against these exact numbers — and nothing in the filed EIS shows the modeling that would support it. Given the architectural plans' own aerial base map confirms homes directly adjacent to the site (Finding 12), this is not a hypothetical concern.

Two more provisions worth knowing:

  • Construction and demolition noise is exempt from these decibel limits entirely (§3-1.6.a.2) — only restricted by hours (no work before 7 a.m. or after 6 p.m. weekdays, none before 9 a.m. or after 6 p.m. weekends). The demolition of two buildings (Finding "Letter" claim #2) can lawfully be loud, with no dB cap, provided it stays inside those hours.
  • Commercial/industrial power equipment is barred within 250 feet of a residential property line during evening/overnight hours (§3-1.6.b.2). Worth checking exactly how close the generator yard and mechanical equipment sit to the nearest home.

This is now the strongest concrete evidence-gap in the file: a specific, numbered legal standard exists, the applicant's own marketing claims compliance with it, and nothing filed with the Planning Board demonstrates that compliance.

09

✅ The Environmental Impact Statement Was Filed

🟢Real, substantive, and on timeCleared

The Plan requires an EIS for this use (Phase 2, §VI.B), and Langan filed a genuine 10-section report on July 24, 2026. The gaps worth raising are specific ones inside it (noise, historic characterization, pending species review) — not its existence.

10

✅ Water Use Is Genuinely Modest

🟢~300 gallons/day, closed-loopCleared

Combined sanitary and cooling demand is projected at approximately 300 gallons per day via closed-loop cooling — confirmed independently in both the EIS and the open letter/FAQ. On this specific point, the design as described is genuinely low-impact.

11

🔍 The Townwide Ban — What It Confirms, What It Doesn't Close

Direct confirmation from the Planning Board's own recordContext
"Members discussed Bell Works and Lucent as existing locations where some data-related operations exist and debated whether current redevelopment plan allowances already permit certain data uses." Holmdel Planning Board meeting, August 4, 2026

The Board voted to send a letter to the Township Committee finding the ban "not inconsistent" with the master plan, while recommending clarifying language "to preserve accessory or small-scale data storage uses." This is on-the-record confirmation that Bell Works' Plan carve-out was a live, acknowledged issue for the body reviewing the townwide ban. The open letter's own closing section — "our application was filed under the zoning Holmdel adopted in 2012" — confirms the applicant is leaning on exactly this timing.

One open detail: the ordinance has been referred to as both 2026-16 (Aug 4 Planning Board coverage) and 2026-18 (Aug 11 Township Committee agenda). Confirm the final adopted number with the Township Clerk before citing it.

12

📐 Inside the Architectural Plans

🔵The 40MW figure — now confirmed in the engineering recordConfirmed

The architectural plan set (Ci Design, Inc., dated 6/10/2026, sealed 7/20/2026 — stamped "ONLY FOR REVIEW, NOT FOR CONSTRUCTION," client identified as "GEK") states the full technical program on its Master Plan title block. Bell Works has since published this same plan set directly on its own FAQ page, alongside the open letter — a primary source straight from the applicant.

SpecificationValue
Building108,000 SF · 2 stories · 53,860 SF/floor
Data halls4 halls · 294 racks each (1,176 racks total)
Rack density22 kW per rack
Critical IT load6.5 MW per hall · 26 MW total
Total utility load40 MW @ 1.5 PUE

This moves the 40MW figure from "developer's letter" to the sealed architectural record — it is no longer in dispute.

🟡74 feet tall — and the height compliance data was deferredCaution flag

The elevation sheets show a parapet at 51–54 feet with rooftop mechanical equipment behind a metal screen rising to 74 feet total. The document that would establish whether 74 feet complies with the applicable bulk standard — the zoning schedule, Checklist Item 22 — is exactly what the application deferred to "condition of approval" (Finding 4). The Board is being asked to review a 74-foot structure without the compliance table that measures it against the underlying zoning. Require that schedule, with the height standard identified, before any vote.

🟡Generator yard confirmed — with a proposed natural gas easementCaution flag

The first-floor plan shows a dedicated "GEN YARD" along the building's rear with what appears to be six generator positions, plus six interior "POWER" rooms. The Master Plan separately shows a "PROPOSED EASEMENT – NATURAL GAS" — new gas infrastructure being added to the site. Exact generator count, capacity, and fuel type still are not stated on the sheets reviewed; ask for those numbers on the record, along with testing schedules and noise levels at the property line (the filed EIS contains no noise study — Finding 8).

🔴The plan's own assumptions box: stormwater not depicted, regulated areas not verifiedRed flag

The Master Plan carries two disclaimers, printed in red, in its own assumptions box:

"1. AREA FOR STORM WATER MANAGEMENT WILL BE IDENTIFIED BY OTHERS. STORMWATER MANAGEMENT AREAS ARE NOT DEPICTED.

2. REGULATED AREAS, INCLUDING FLOOD HAZARD AREAS AND RIPARIAN ZONES, ARE NOT VERIFIED, AND TO BE CONFIRMED BY NJDEP DURING THE APPROVALS PROCESS." Architectural Master Plan, Assumptions — Ci Design, 6/10/2026

Read those against the same sheet's own mapping: the site is ringed by wetlands lines, 50-foot wetland transition areas, two 300-foot riparian zones, a 150-foot riparian zone, an unnamed tributary, and Hop Brook — with the proposed subdivision line threading between them. The plan simultaneously shows how environmentally constrained the site is and disclaims that none of those constraints are verified, while omitting the stormwater areas entirely. Where stormwater management fits on this constrained site — and whether it pushes development into riparian buffers — is not answerable from the filed drawings.

🟡The aerial base map shows the neighborsCaution flag

The Master Plan is drawn over an aerial photograph — and that photograph shows large single-family residential properties directly adjacent to the site's northern edge. The applicant's own drawing base corroborates the EIS's "residential to the north and east" description, and sits uneasily next to the open letter's characterization of the site as "isolated" and "out of view from surrounding neighborhoods."

13

⬜ Still Unverified

Say this plainly rather than guessUnverified
  • Generator count, capacity, and fuel type. A GEN YARD with what appears to be six positions is shown on the architectural plans, and the EIS confirms Tier 2/4 engines requiring an air permit — but unit count, combined capacity, and fuel are not stated on any sheet reviewed. The proposed natural gas easement may indicate gas-fired units; confirm rather than assume.
  • The applicable height limit. The building is drawn at 74 feet to the top of the rooftop screen; the zoning schedule that would identify the governing height standard was deferred. Whether 74 feet complies is an open question the record doesn't yet answer.
  • The exact ordinance number for the townwide ban (2026-16 vs. 2026-18).
14

Full Matrix

IssueAgreement / EIS saysFiled / claimedFlag
Footprint~54,000 sf (1.24 ac)Bldg. matches; new lot far exceedsRed
Parking72 spaces required34 providedRed
Applicant identitySomerset Holmdel Dev. I, LPTerna / Somerset Mezz / "Inspired by Somerset"Red
Bulk/zoning dataRequired at filingDeferred to "condition of approval"Red
Water/sewer will-serveRequired at filing"Not yet available" ×2Red
Historic resourcesPreservation goal citedCalled "eligible"; listed since 2017Amber
Steep slopesNo disturbance >25% w/o waiverWaiver requestedAmber
Species habitatReview requiredNJDEP response pending at filingAmber
Noise65/50 dB day/night limit (Ord. 97-31)No study; industry range 45–65 dBRed
Neighborhood description"Isolated," "out of view"Homes on 1–2 sides per own reportsAmber
Environmental Impact StatementRequired, Phase 2Filed 7/24/26Green
Water useNear Cat. 1 waterway~300 gal/day, closed-loopGreen
Power capacity (MW)n/a40MW @ 1.5 PUE — sealed arch. plansConfirmed
Building heightStandard deferred w/ zoning schedule74 ft to top of rooftop screenAmber
Generatorsn/aGEN YARD, ~6 positions; count/fuel unstatedAmber
Stormwater on plansDrainage report required"NOT DEPICTED — identified by others"Red
Flood/riparian zonesCat. 1 buffers on site"NOT VERIFIED" per plan's own assumptionsRed
Ban ordinance numbern/a2026-16 or 2026-18Unverified
15

Questions for the Hearing

Not legal advice. Built from the applicant's own filed application documents (obtained via OPRA request, mirrored publicly on Internet Archive), the 2014 Financial & Redevelopment Agreement and Redevelopment Plan text, Somerset's August 2026 open letter and FAQ, and public Planning Board meeting coverage. The full Site Plans and Stormwater Management Report (122MB and 64MB) and the JCP&L Will-Serve Letter (binary .doc) could not be read in full — the items in Section 12 should be confirmed directly from those sources. Have an attorney and a licensed engineer verify every figure here against the complete record before relying on it in testimony.